• Register Today It's free! This box and some ads will disappear once registered!

^^Searches ExplorerForum.com^^

New Forscan Update Allows Module Programming

larry91403

New Member
Joined
August 20, 2019
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Year, Model & Trim Level
2018, Explorer Ltd
Callsign
WQWF829
I think you are SOL. I am pretty sure those air pumps get hot and burn out pretty fast is why they don't do it. I normally let it run its course on a long drive then let it set for ten or fifteen minutes before turning it on again.
Do you think a better tactic would be to (if possible) extend the run time? If settle for 1 hour vs 20? Minutes. The dealer didn’t think there was a run length issue. And I have been restarting them over and over and over for a year now. The only issue I’ve had was it burnt out the switch on the seat.
 
Join the Elite Explorers for $20.

Explorer Forum has probably saved you that much already, and will continue to save you money as you learn how to diagnose fix problems yourself and learn which modifications work without having to experiment on your own. Elite Explorer members see practically no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links, can add their own profile photo, upload photo attachments in all forums, and Media Gallery, create and save more private Conversations, and more. Join Today. Your support is greatly appreciated.


Mlarv5

Active Member
Joined
November 8, 2010
Messages
369
Reaction score
36
City, State
Crossville TN
Year, Model & Trim Level
2017 Platinum Ruby Red
Do you think a better tactic would be to (if possible) extend the run time? If settle for 1 hour vs 20? Minutes. The dealer didn’t think there was a run length issue. And I have been restarting them over and over and over for a year now. The only issue I’ve had was it burnt out the switch on the seat.
I think you answered your own question. You have already burnt out a switch by running to much current though it for to long. There is no way to extend it past the twenty minutes that I know of. As for a dealer service person telling me they don't see a problem with something, I take that with a grain of salt. I have worked around electronics for 41+ years and have been teaching it for 15+ years in one way or another. The switch's are the weak part but the motors are not far behind.
 

larry91403

New Member
Joined
August 20, 2019
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Year, Model & Trim Level
2018, Explorer Ltd
Callsign
WQWF829
I think you answered your own question. You have already burnt out a switch by running to much current though it for to long. There is no way to extend it past the twenty minutes that I know of. As for a dealer service person telling me they don't see a problem with something, I take that with a grain of salt. I have worked around electronics for 41+ years and have been teaching it for 15+ years in one way or another. The switch's are the weak part but the motors are not far behind.
You're probably right. Maybe if I keep putting in warranty claims for the switch, ford will deal with the problem. :p probably not.
 

Exploder82

Active Member
Joined
September 8, 2015
Messages
142
Reaction score
9
City, State
IL
Year, Model & Trim Level
2016 Explorer Sport ;p
Yes, dark mode works fine for me but the Platinum IPC doesn't support controlling it so I have to use Forscan to turn it on or off. Silent mode is what dark mode was renamed to for the 2017MY. I am unable to test this since I have a 2016MY but if the dark mode enable works on your car, that is the same feature. I have a feeling that both must be enabled & the silent mode BCM location controls which keys it is enabled on. Your Sport should also support IPC control.

http://www.fleet.ford.com/resources/ford/general/pdf/police-vehicles/2017 Police Interceptor Utility New Product Updates 3-14-16.pdf

The 2018 Interceptor brochure refers to Police Silent Mode & Dark Car Feature

http://www.fleet.ford.com/resources...chures/2018/2018_PoliceInterceptorUtility.pdf
On my 16 Sport, can I control dark mode from the IPC? I don’t see an option to enable it.
 

KayGee

Well-Known Member
Joined
March 27, 2017
Messages
1,414
Reaction score
329
City, State
Farmington, MI
Year, Model & Trim Level
'16 & '17 PIU
On my 16 Sport, can I control dark mode from the IPC? I don’t see an option to enable it.
AFAIK, no ipc option for you - you can only enable and disable with forscan or IDS.
 

Exploder82

Active Member
Joined
September 8, 2015
Messages
142
Reaction score
9
City, State
IL
Year, Model & Trim Level
2016 Explorer Sport ;p
Anyone with a 16 want to try the headlight halo as drl’s? I can’t get it to work on mine and curious if it’s a 16 issue or just mine. In the bcm line 726-26-2 x1xx xxxx. The 1 enables it on an 18 for sure. I can’t get it to work on my Sport.
 

Ntrain

Active Member
Joined
January 28, 2019
Messages
187
Reaction score
45
Year, Model & Trim Level
2016 Explorer XLT
Anyone with a 16 want to try the headlight halo as drl’s? I can’t get it to work on mine and curious if it’s a 16 issue or just mine. In the bcm line 726-26-2 x1xx xxxx. The 1 enables it on an 18 for sure. I can’t get it to work on my Sport.
I couldn't get it to work on my 16 either.

I think you could try using the parking lights as the DRL and it would use the signature lights.
 

Exploder82

Active Member
Joined
September 8, 2015
Messages
142
Reaction score
9
City, State
IL
Year, Model & Trim Level
2016 Explorer Sport ;p
I couldn't get it to work on my 16 either.

I think you could try using the parking lights as the DRL and it would use the signature lights.
I didn’t think of that. I’ll give that a try. Thanks.
 

Exploder82

Active Member
Joined
September 8, 2015
Messages
142
Reaction score
9
City, State
IL
Year, Model & Trim Level
2016 Explorer Sport ;p
I couldn't get it to work on my 16 either.

I think you could try using the parking lights as the DRL and it would use the signature lights.
So that didn’t work. If you change it to turn signals, high beams or whatever those lights just work in conjunction with the halo and low beams. There has to be a bit somewhere that’s hiding to turn off the low beam function of the drl. And if you turn off drl in the ipc then the high beams etc turn off along with the halo and lows.
 

dont slow down

Active Member
Joined
December 1, 2014
Messages
159
Reaction score
3
Year, Model & Trim Level
2013 Explorer XLT
Has anyone come across a way to get the current gear displayed on the IPC? I can view the tachometer, and when in manual mode it displays the current gear, is there a way to have the current gear shown while in drive too? I have not seen it in any of the spreadsheets, but mine could be out of date as well. I have a 2013 by the way.
 

RedDen

Active Member
Joined
March 14, 2012
Messages
473
Reaction score
12
City, State
Calgary
Year, Model & Trim Level
2012 Explorer Limited
Has anyone come across a way to get the current gear displayed on the IPC? I can view the tachometer, and when in manual mode it displays the current gear, is there a way to have the current gear shown while in drive too? I have not seen it in any of the spreadsheets, but mine could be out of date as well. I have a 2013 by the way.
It is only displayed when gear selector is in M mode, dont think it is possible on restyle either, maybe new Explorer.
 

Exploder82

Active Member
Joined
September 8, 2015
Messages
142
Reaction score
9
City, State
IL
Year, Model & Trim Level
2016 Explorer Sport ;p
Can anyone confirm when changing the splash screen that it works at boot and close? I swore it did and now it’s showing the ford logo when I open the door when getting out.
 

Ntrain

Active Member
Joined
January 28, 2019
Messages
187
Reaction score
45
Year, Model & Trim Level
2016 Explorer XLT
Has anyone come across a way to get the current gear displayed on the IPC? I can view the tachometer, and when in manual mode it displays the current gear, is there a way to have the current gear shown while in drive too? I have not seen it in any of the spreadsheets, but mine could be out of date as well. I have a 2013 by the way.
No way in forscan that I have found. It can be done in HP Tuners though.
 

MM07

Elite Explorer
Joined
January 13, 2019
Messages
350
Reaction score
70
City, State
MA
Year, Model & Trim Level
2018 Explorer Limited
If anyone interested, I did it on my MY12 Explorer (Canada):

2. Activating equalizer in radio module itself (ACM):
ACM 727-01-02 x*xx, * change to values from 1 to F (people from russian forum telling either 7 or 9 are the best). I entered 9.
0=EQ Selection #0, 1=EQ Selection #1, 2=EQ Selection #2, 3=EQ Selection #3, 4=EQ Selection #4, 5=EQ Selection #5, 6=EQ Selection #6, 7=EQ Selection #7, 8=EQ Selection #8, 9=EQ Selection #9, A=EQ Selection #10, B=EQ Selection #11, C=EQ Selection #12, D=EQ Selection #13, E=EQ Selection #14, F=EQ Selection #15
I know you posted this awhile ago, but how does 9 sound?
 

RhinoQuartz

Active Member
Joined
December 16, 2018
Messages
688
Reaction score
110
Year, Model & Trim Level
17 Explorer Base
Has anyone been able to understand why certain functions are stored where they are?

Or does anyone know if there's a knowledge repository in IDS that details all the addresses?

Or how to decode them?
 

MM07

Elite Explorer
Joined
January 13, 2019
Messages
350
Reaction score
70
City, State
MA
Year, Model & Trim Level
2018 Explorer Limited
On the IPC, I enabled "Frost Telltale" and "Traffic Sign Recognition"...we'll see what those do and if I notice a difference.
Here is a pic of Frost Telltale icon in the IPC.

IMG_2788.jpeg
 

RedDen

Active Member
Joined
March 14, 2012
Messages
473
Reaction score
12
City, State
Calgary
Year, Model & Trim Level
2012 Explorer Limited
Here is a pic of Frost Telltale icon in the IPC.

View attachment 174855
Its unlikely to change anything.
Frost sign appears when temperature drops below 4deg C, it is been a feature on Europe's Fords for ages.
Traffic sign recognition is unlikely to work since it requires a front camera and a proper software, I think it is only available on Explorer because it shares same platform with Aviator.
 

RhinoQuartz

Active Member
Joined
December 16, 2018
Messages
688
Reaction score
110
Year, Model & Trim Level
17 Explorer Base
Its unlikely to change anything.
Frost sign appears when temperature drops below 4deg C, it is been a feature on Europe's Fords for ages.
Traffic sign recognition is unlikely to work since it requires a front camera and a proper software, I think it is only available on Explorer because it shares same platform with Aviator.
Aviator is built with the 6th gen, not 5th, so that's not it.
 

peterk9

Staff member
Moderator
Elite Explorer
Joined
December 28, 2010
Messages
26,505
Reaction score
1,392
City, State
Ottawa, Ontario area
Year, Model & Trim Level
2020 Aviator Reserve II
Callsign
VE3
In nearly 57 years of driving in Canada, I've never needed a popup on the dash to tell me the road might be icy.:)

Peter
 
Join the Elite Explorers for $20.

Explorer Forum has probably saved you that much already, and will continue to save you money as you learn how to diagnose fix problems yourself and learn which modifications work without having to experiment on your own. Elite Explorer members see practically no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links, can add their own profile photo, upload photo attachments in all forums, and Media Gallery, create and save more private Conversations, and more. Join Today. Your support is greatly appreciated.


MM07

Elite Explorer
Joined
January 13, 2019
Messages
350
Reaction score
70
City, State
MA
Year, Model & Trim Level
2018 Explorer Limited
Peter and RedDen, I just added it in FORScan in the summer. Not sure what it did. Now I see a cool icon.

I know when it is cold here too!!
 
Top