Help with plan for buddy in Iraq | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Help with plan for buddy in Iraq

project Iraqi freedom exploder

Hi, I'm new to explorerforums.com and I copied and pasted my post from ford-trucks.com. I figured I might get some better ideas here. I would like to spend my buddies cash wisely and doing as much research as possible.

Let's call this "project Iraqi freedom exploder".
My buddy is over there and I've volunteered to lift his 2000 exploder and rebuild his v6, so when he returns he'll have a nice lifted reliable vehicle.
I have done most of this type of work before, so I will be doing all the work. He is going to pay for all the stuff.
I have not done much research yet, but I hope this post will help.

Let's say his budget is around $3000.
So far, I have three companies that do lifts for his vehicle;
1) trailmaster - 4" lift - $1500
2) superlift - 4" lift - $1800
3) custom lift (I forgot the manufacturer) - $2200

He does not do any extreme off roading, only hunting and maybe some screwing around while at deer camp. Mind you we typically have 2-3 feet of snow up north in December, so geting down those trails are tough.

I was thinking the trailmaster kit - $1500 and engine rebuild (nothing really wrong, but could use a freshen-up) $500, then tires with full size spare - $1000, so there you have it. That's my preliminary plan. If you guys can think of anything I should do or buy please let me know.
Here's a link of what he wants his vehicle to look like, but it also has a 3" body lift, which I want to avoid. But at the same time, I would like to get 33" mud terrians on there.
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/464729
(Same color too)

Oh yeah, I'm also not sure what gear is in it. I will check soon (it's in my garage waiting!). Hopefully I do not have to change them, but oh well if I do.

Thanks in advance!!!
Mike

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.