94 Bearhug survival thread

BearHug

Reaction score
City, State
Anchorage, AK
Year, Model & Trim Level
1994 Explorer XLT
Hey all,

I've seen a lot of fun and entertaining build threads on the forum and thought it about time to contribute my own. But as I'm a broke college student the thread will be less about building it up, and more about keep it alive -- thus survival thread. Hoping ya'll can help me in this mission. Here's a little bit about the ride:

Purchased the vehicle coming up on three years ago after moving to Anchorage, Alaska for $1,600 with about 114 k on the odometer. It was the third car I had checked out, and I instantly fell in love with the all red interior and the commanding view an SUV offers over the road.

Prior to owning the Explorer I barely knew how to change an air filter so it became something of a training car for me to work on while not being too concerned about it "exploding" or me messing something up. I'm now pretty comfortable replacing about anything on the car so in that regard it's already paid for itself in education.

The man I bought it from bought it from his parents (so second owner). His folks used the car as something of a taxi to bring people from the airport to their RV park thing they ran -- in the right light you can still see the outline of their phone number on the side of the car.

Within the first four days of owning, on a frosty and snowy morning, I pulled out of the driveway to have it die (battery). Had a kindly gentlemen push my car back into my driveway -- with his Ford F150 and a tire in between the cars -- and thus has begun my love affair with the Explorer. Here's where I'm at (specs), and where I'm hoping to go with the Explorer:

Modifications/upgrades/stats/etc... in no particular order.:

- Just rolled over 130 k from originally purchased 114 (over three years, apx).
- Flowmaster muffler
- Pioneer deck